Edmonton Oilers name four alternates, but will go captain-less this season

Jordan Eberle, left, and Taylor Hall will once again serve as alternate captains. They will be two of the four total alternates.
Jayne Kamin-Oncea/Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Spor

The Edmonton Oilers are choosing to forego a captain this year, and will instead field four alternates throughout the year.

Taylor Hall, Jordan Eberle, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins and Andrew Ference will serve the alternates.

While Eberle still recovers from his shoulder injury, Matt Hendricks will fill in with his abscence.

Ference served as the team captain for the last two seasons.

The choice to not choose a team captain appears to open the door for the option to name Connor McDavid as the captain in the future.

The Oilers open up their season this Thursday against the St. Louis Blues.