Vote for the greatest Brown

RB Jim Brown

Unparalleled as a runner, Brown dominated his era as few athletes, in any sport, ever have. In his nine NFL seasons, 1957-65, he led the league in rushing eight times and was a Pro Bowl pick in every season. He averaged more than 100 yards a game in seven seasons. A power runner who also was blessed with speed and the ability to change direction on a dime, Brown also was an adept pass catcher. Despite playing the 12- and 14-game schedules of the time, Brown finished with a then-record 12,312 yards rushing. He walked away from the game at age 29 to pursue a movie career, leaving others to wonder just how high he would have set the bar had he played a few more years. It was plenty high already: He was ushered into the Hall of Fame in 1971.

QB Otto Graham

If the ultimate measure of a quarterback is winning, Graham stands above all others. In his 10 professional seasons, from 1946-55, Graham directed the Browns to seven league championships (four in the All-America Football Conference, three in the NFL). His record as an NFL starting quarterback was 57-13-1. Although a tailback at Northwestern, Graham became a masterful T-formation quarterback under coach Paul Brown. He led the AAFC in passing in each of its four years of existence and led the NFL in passing twice. If anyone doubted his ability after four years in an upstart league, he proved himself in 1950 by throwing four TD passes in his first NFL title game as the Browns defeated the Los Angeles Rams 30-28. Graham was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1965.

QB Bernie Kosar

Kosar secured his status as a fan favorite forever in Cleveland when he took advantage of a loophole in draft regulations to give the Browns a chance to snag him in the supplemental draft in 1985. After starring at the University of Miami, the Youngstown, Ohio, native wanted to come back home and play in front of the Dawg Pound. Kosar might be as highly regarded outside Ohio, if not for “The Drive” and “The Fumble” – heartbreaking losses in the 1986 and ’87 AFC title games, which denied the Browns consecutive trips to the Super Bowl. Kosar threw for 21,904 yards in 8-1/2 seasons as the Browns’ starter. He then ran afoul of young coach Bill Belichick in 1993 by calling his own plays in a game against Denver and was promptly released. He finished his career as a backup in Dallas and Miami.

TE Ozzie Newsome

Newsome was as reliable a pass-catcher as the game has seen. Along with his contemporary Kellen Winslow, he changed the way tight ends were viewed. Newsome caught 662 passes while playing for the Browns from 1978-90. That total ranked No. 4 all-time and No. 1 among tight ends at the time of his retirement. Newsome had a reception in 150 straight games. When the streak ended in 1989, it was the second-longest reception streak in NFL history. A team captain whose leadership extended beyond the locker room, Newsome won the Whizzer White Award in 1990, which the NFL Players Association gives for community service. Elected to the Hall of Fame in 1999, Newsome also has had a successful front-office career. He’s currently general manager of the Baltimore Ravens.

WR Paul Warfield

Warfield was a blazing fast receiver whose average of 20.1 yards per catch ranks in the top 10 all-time. He was more than a speedster, however. He ran precise patterns, was elusive and graceful, and had good hands and tremendous jumping ability. Because he played on run-first teams, his career total was only 427 receptions. But his eight Pro Bowl seasons show how dominant he was at his position. Warfield had two stints in Cleveland, 1964-69 and 1976-77. In between, he spent five seasons in Miami, where he was part of the undefeated 1972 Dolphins, and one season in the World Football League with the Memphis Southmen. Warfield was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1983.