Titans coach: NFL says officials wrong on 3 plays

Coach Mike Munchak says the NFL has told him officials erred on

three plays in the Titans’ 22-14 loss to the Indianapolis Colts,

including one flag that should not have been thrown at all.

Munchak said Monday he doesn’t like calling the league office

each week and hearing what officials messed up in his games.

”Mistakes are going to happen,” Munchak said. ”It’s upsetting

when you feel they could affect a game one way or another. But you

just want consistency when things aren’t going your way. But yeah,

I don’t think there’s usually that many. But you know there’s going

to be some mistakes. And it’s more learning from them as a staff

and me as a head coach.”

The NFL also said Monday that officials should have stopped play

Sunday night on the Redskins’ final drive to eliminate confusion

about the down and distance at the end of the Giants’ 24-17 win at

Washington.

”That’s a fine line you walk every Sunday,” Munchak said.

”This game is getting very hard to play because of a lot of the

ways that it’s being called.”

Munchak said officials at the league office told him that an

unsportsmanlike conduct flag should not have been thrown for

running back Shonn Greene clapping his hands in front of Colts

safety LaRon Landry after a run. The Titans (5-7) did score a

touchdown that drive, and Munchak said they’ll tell players not to

celebrate like that in the future.

”People say they want to see excitement in the game,” Munchak

said. ”You have a little excitement, you have a flag for it.”

Linebacker Moise Fokou was flagged for unnecessary roughness at

the end of the first half for hitting a running back in the back.

Referee Walt Coleman put a second on the clock after assessing the

15-yard penalty on top of a 20-yard reception, and Adam Vinatieri

kicked a 37-yard field goal that would have been a 52-yard

attempt.

Munchak said the penalty should have been a 5-yard illegal

contact since Andrew Luck still had the ball in his hand with

Fokou’s contact within 5 yards of the line of scrimmage. Munchak

said he was led to believe the contact was totally unnecessary and

after the play ended.

”It wasn’t any of those things,” Munchak said.

Also, he was told tight Delanie Walker did catch a pass

officials reviewed and upheld as incomplete in the first quarter.

Walker caught the ball near midfield, but officials ruled he had

bobbled the ball before losing it when he hit the ground.

AP NFL website: www.pro32.ap.org