The stakes Sunday in Green Bay (4:25 p.m. ET, FOX) won't be as high as they were in the Ice Bowl, or two years ago when the Dallas Cowboys and Green Bay Packers met in the divisional round of the NFC playoffs.
However, when these storied franchises meet, new memories are created, as well as old ones revived.
The most recent (and viral) example of that took place on Jan. 11, 2015, when Dez Bryant caught — or didn't catch, as was ruled — a pass from Tony Romo.
Article continues below ...
To reset the stage, Green Bay was leading, 26-21, and the Cowboys faced a fourth-and-2 with 4:36 left in the fourth quarter.
Bryant appeared to make a great grab near the goal line. However, Packers coach Mike McCarthy challenged the call and referee Gene Steratore went under the hood.
The ruling: no catch, and the debate was on.
A FOXSports.com story written that day — and so many NFL fans — went looking for answers in the NFL's catch rule:
FOX Sports officiating analyst Mike Pereira offered his usual, pointed, unique insight immediately — and, to date, this video has been viewed more than 900,000 times:
Everyone else seemed to have an opinion, thanks to social media.
But nearly two years later, Cowboys fans still feel their team was cheated out of a chance to play in the NFC Championship game, and Sunday will be Dallas' chance to get a little revenge against the team that played in that game instead.
“If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.”
as I went to the ground I rolled over and I tipped the ball to gain better control.. We lost and I accept it but please change that rule