Packers’ Aaron Rodgers, Jets’ Rex Ryan honored

Super Bowl MVP Aaron Rodgers and New York Jets coach Rex Ryan

were honored Monday by the Pro Football Writers of America.

Rodgers, who led Green Bay to the NFL title, won the Good Guy

Award given to the player that best helped the media do their


Rodgers’ win marks the fourth consecutive year a quarterback

took the award and the second straight year it was the winning QB

of the Super Bowl. New Orleans’ Drew Brees won in 2010, while the

two previous recipients were Arizona’s Kurt Warner in 2009 and

Brett Favre in 2008 after playing the 2007 season with the Packers.

He joined the Jets in 2008.

Ryan got the Horrigan Award as the non-player who most helped

the media do their job in 2010. The colorful coach makes headlines

with almost everything he does, from predicting his team will win

the Super Bowl to a starring role in ”Hard Knocks” during the

2010 training camp.

Tennessee offensive coordinator Mike Heimerdinger received the

Halas Award for overcoming adversity; Heimerdinger continued

working last season after being diagnosed with cancer. He did not

miss any games.

Longtime Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel reporter Bob McGinn won the

McCann Award, given to a reporter with long and distinguished

coverage of the NFL. McGinn has covered the Packers for 32 years,

including the past 27 full time, and is a five-time Wisconsin state

sportswriter of the year.

The Baltimore Ravens got the Rozelle Award for the best public

relations department.