Notorious hothead Dez Bryant wins ‘Good Guy Award’

The Dallas-Fort Worth chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America says Dez Bryant is a pretty swell guy.

Despite the Dallas Cowboys receiver’s numerous sideline explosions and general unsportsmanlike conduct during the 2013 season, that group gave Bryant the Cowboys’€™ "€œGood Guy Award", according to the Star-Telegram. The annual award is given "€œto honor a player for his consistent and outstanding cooperation with the team’s beat writers."€

Voters pointed to Bryant’€™s consistent locker room availability this season and his maturation from his rookie season as reasons he deserved the award. Bryant made himself available to the media to address controversies after games against the Detroit Lions and the Green Bay Packers, and he has become one of the team’€™s most accommodating players.

Receiver Roy Williams won the inaugural Good Guy Award in 2009, and quarterback Jon Kitna won it in 2010. Defensive end Marcus Spears was the honoree in 2011, and Jason Witten won it in 2012.