NFL calls replay reversal ‘judgment’ call

Colts coach Chuck Pagano isn’t looking for an apology over Jeff

Triplette’s latest officiating controversy.

One day after the ref reversed a call on fourth-and-goal, giving

the Bengals a touchdown at the end of the first half instead of

giving the Colts a stop, Pagano said he was still waiting to hear

from the NFL though he knows it won’t change a thing.

Triplette made the change after he said the replay showed

BenJarvus Green-Ellis was not touched after he stumbled to the

ground short of the goal line – even though it appeared Colts nose

tackle Josh Chapman tripped up Green-Ellis in the backfield.

Green-Ellis then bounced into the end zone.

The Colts wound up losing 42-28 to the Bengals, a game that

could have a significant impact on playoff seeding.

When asked if the admission of a mistake would make a

difference, Pagano responded: ”Still 14-0 at half, right? So,

no.”

After the game, Triplette told a pool reporter that he was only

looking to see if Green-Ellis was touched down at the goal line and

did not look to see whether Chapman caused the stumble. Chapman

then celebrated the fourth-down stop.

Chapman insisted Sunday and again Monday that he got a hand on

Green-Ellis’ foot, causing him to trip. The running back

acknowledged in a postgame interview that he felt his left foot get

hit but wasn’t sure if he tripped on his own.

The officials initially ruled Green-Ellis hit the ground short

of the goal line, but Triplette reversed the call turning what was

a 7-0 game with about 1 minute left in the first half into a 14-0

deficit for the Colts.

Indy then scored touchdowns on its first two series of the

second half to get within 21-14.

Pagano immediately wanted an explanation.

”You always ask `What’d you see?’ So we had a conversation,”

Pagano said, explaining that Triplette ”clarified things.”

Pagano was unusually short with his answers, likely to avoid the

potential of a fine from the league.

NFL spokesman Greg Aiello wrote in an email to The Associated

Press that it was a ”judgment call.”

It’s not the first time, Triplette has been involved in a

controversy.

In 2011, he gave the improper recitation of overtime rules

during a Chargers-Broncos game.

Last week, Triplette’s crew had trouble getting the down and

distance correct at the end of the Giants’ win over Washington last

week – something league officials later admitted was a mistake by

the officiating crew.

”I guess it’s just not a good week for those guys,”

Green-Ellis said. ”I’m just happy that we get one in our favor.

Man, we’ve had so many calls go against us in the opposite

direction. So I’m happy to get one and that we got away with that

one like that.”

AP Sports Writer Joe Kay in Cincinnati contributed to this

report.

AP NFL website: www.pro32.ap.org