Emmitt Smith enters Hall of Fame

Holding back tears after a minute-long standing ovation, NFL

career rushing leader Emmitt Smith has been inducted into the Pro

Football Hall of Fame.

Finishing off a hat trick for the ”Triplets,” Smith joined

Dallas Cowboys teammates Troy Aikman and Michael Irvin in the

shrine Saturday night. He enters as the NFL’s top runner with

18,355 yards and leader in touchdowns rushing (164), seasons with

1,000 or more yards on the ground (11) and games with 100 yards

rushing (78).

Smith made the hall in his first year of eligibility and won

three Super Bowls, taking MVP honors in the 1994 game.

Smith immediately paid tribute to Walter Payton, the man he

surpassed for the rushing record, saying, ”He had a heart that

said I can achieve, I will achieve, and I will be successful. Now,

here I am standing at the same podium he did.”