Ed Sabol enters the Hall of Fame

NFL Films founder Ed Sabol is the first of seven men to be

inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday night.

The 94-year-old Sabol will be followed, in order, by Richard

Dent, Chris Hanburger, Shannon Sharpe, Marshall Faulk, the late Les

Richter, and Deion Sanders.

An aspiring filmmaker in 1962, Sabol approached Commissioner

Pete Rozelle offering to double the rights fee for filming the 1962

NFL championship game between the Packers and Giants. Rozelle

accepted the $3,000 and a wildly successful marriage was


NFL Films revolutionized the visuals for football, particularly

with use of slow motion and music.

Sabol retired in 1995, succeeded as NFL Films president by his

son Steve, who introduced his father for induction.