Buccaneers: Clinton McDonald Nominated for Salute to Service Award

Clinton McDonald of the Buccaneers received the team nomination for the Salute to Service award.

On this Veteran’s Day, Buccaneers fans, we talk about the Salute to Service award.

The award is given by the NFL and the USAA to one player in the league that shows strong commitment to honoring the military community. Last year, one of our own the award, Vincent Jackson.

This year’s nominees are out, and the Bucs’ nominee is none other than Clinton McDonald.

Many members of McDonald‘s family have served our nation, going back to his grandfather serving in the Korean War all the way through his brother who is an active member of the Air Force.

“McDonald served as honorary guest speaker at the Bucs second annual General H. Norman Schwarzkopf Military Family of the Year Awards and has honored wounded warriors at the 2016 Invictus Games, held in Orlando. McDonald also makes sure to spend extra time with military members at Bucs team events. To read more about McDonald’s nomination, please visit NFL.com/salute.”

The winner will be announced at the NFL awards show, this year taking place in Houston, televised on FOX the night before the Super Bowl.

For anyone interested, here is the list of the nominees:





Deone Bucannon

Arizona Cardinals


Dan Quinn

Atlanta Falcons

Head Coach

Steve Smith Sr.

Baltimore Ravens

Wide Receiver

Richie Incognito

Buffalo Bills


Ron Rivera

Carolina Panthers

Head Coach

Jerrell Freeman

Chicago Bears


Kyle Caskey

Cincinnati Bengals

Running Backs Coach

Joe Thomas

Cleveland Browns

Offensive Lineman

Darren Woodson

Dallas Cowboys

Alumni, Former Safety

DeMarcus Ware

Denver Broncos


Golden Tate

Detroit Lions

Wide Receiver

Tom Bakken

Green Bay Packers

Assistant Equipment Manager

Brian Cushing

Houston Texans


Pat McAfee

Indianapolis Colts


Blake Bortles

Jacksonville Jaguars


Derrick Johnson

Kansas City Chiefs


Jeff Fisher

Los Angeles Rams

Head Coach

Jamie Quadrozzi

Miami Dolphins

Senior Manager, Game Entertainment & Cheerleaders

Jeff Locke

Minnesota Vikings


Joe Cardona

New England Patriots

Long Snapper

Drew Brees

New Orleans Saints


Mike Sullivan

New York Giants

Offensive Coordinator

Eric Decker

New York Jets

Wide Receiver

Jon Condo

Oakland Raiders

Long Snapper

Don Smolenski

Philadelphia Eagles


Alejandro Villanueva

Pittsburgh Steelers

Offensive Tackle

Sean Lissemore

San Diego Chargers

Nose Tackle

Garrett Celek

San Francisco 49ers

Tight End

Jermaine Kearse

Seattle Seahawks

Wide Receiver

Clinton McDonald

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Defensive Tackle

Stormi Wagley

Tennessee Titans

Alumni, Cheerleader

Derrick Dockery

Washington Redskins

Alumni, Former Guard

Congratulations to McDonald on the nomination.

This article originally appeared on