Palmer, Fitzgerald head 7-player Pro Bowl contingent for Cardinals

Carson Palmer led Arizona to the NFC West title after a knee injury cut short his 2014 season.
Matt Kartozian/Matt Kartozian-USA TODAY Sports

Quarterback Carson Palmer and wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald head a contingent of seven Arizona Cardinals to be named to the Pro Bowl on Tuesday night.

Palmer and Fitzgerald were joined by cornerback Patrick Peterson, safety Tyrann Mathieu, defensive lineman Calais Campbell, guard Mike Iupati and special teams standout Justin Bethel. Arizona’s seven selections are tied with the Seattle Seahawks for the second-most behind the Carolina Panthers (10).

Palmer earned his third selection and first since 2006, rebounding from a severe knee injury that ended his 2014 season after nine games to lead the high-powered Cardinals to a 12-2 record and the NFC West Division title. 

Fitzgerald was named to his ninth Pro Bowl, surpassing Larry Wilson for the most in franchise history. It is the second-highest total for a wide receiver behind Hall of Famer Jerry Rice (13). 

Peterson became the fourth player in league history – and only non-running back – to earn five Pro Bowl honors before turning 26 years old, while Bethel was named for the third year in a row  and Campbell was selected for the second straight season.

Iupati earned his fifth trip to Hawaii and first with the Cardinals while Mathieu was a first-time selection, which was announced hours after he was placed on injured reserve due to a torn knee ligament suffered in Sunday’s win at Philadelphia.

The seven selections were the most for the Cardinals since seven players earned Pro Bowl honors in 1977.

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our NFL newsletters.