John Wall became the Wizards' franchise leader in assists on Monday, but he was also ejected after picking up his second technical foul of the evening near the end of Washington's 114-106 home loss to the Rockets.
It didn't appear as though he did much to deserve it.
Referees almost never comment directly on situations like these, but if there's a controversial moment in the game, a request can be made for the official involved to meet with a pool reporter after the game. That's what happened here, so we got a rare explanation as to why Wall received that second technical foul.
Article continues below ...
It's possible that Wall could receive a one-game suspension for making contact with the official, but the wording of the rule would make it seem unlikely.
It looked like a harmless interaction, but we don't know what words were exchanged.