NBA: Traveling rule was not changed

The correct call: The NBA has not changed the traveling rule.

Stu Jackson, the league’s executive vice president of basketball operations, said recent media reports that the rule had been changed to allow an extra step after the dribble were not true.

“We have not changed the traveling rule, nor how we enforce the rule,” Jackson said Friday during the league’s annual preseason conference call. “What we did change was some antiquated language in our existing rule as it related to steps.”

The section of the NBA rulebook dealing with traveling used to allow players to “use a two-count rhythm in coming to a stop.” It was reworded this season to say players “may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.”