NBA admits refs missed two late foul calls that helped Raptors beat Pacers

DeRozan got away with one for sure. (John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports)


We definitely saw this coming.

The Pacers’ last meaningful possession in Game 7 came with Indiana trailing by three and the shot clock turned off. Pacers’ head coach Frank Vogel elected to go for a quick two, and the play call to get Ian Mahinmi a lob at the rim would have worked to perfection — except for the fact that DeMar DeRozan blatantly fouled the big man in order to break up the play.

Nothing was called, DeRozan was (eventually) fouled, and he made the two free throws to make it a two-possession game and seal the 89-84 win for the Raptors.

A day later, the NBA’s Last Two Minute Report admitted that the referees should have blown their collective whistle.

What’s worse is that the same report reveals that DeRozan should have been called for a travel before he was fouled with 9.2 seconds left, which would have given the Pacers one more chance.

Players like LeBron James and Dwyane Wade are on record as saying that these reports only add insult to injury, but the league is simply trying to make things as transparent as possible.