NBA announces 2017 Slam Dunk Contest participants

The NBA has announced the 2017 Slam Dunk Contest participants for All-Star Weekend: Aaron Gordon, DeAndre Jordan, Derrick Jones Jr. and Glenn Robinson III.

In a pregame segment Thursday night, TNT’s Inside The NBA officially announced the participants for the 2017 Slam Dunk Contest at All-Star Weekend.

The four competitors will be Aaron Gordon of the Orlando Magic, DeAndre Jordan from the Los Angeles Clippers, Glenn Robinson III of the Indiana Pacers and the Phoenix Suns’ Derrick Jones Jr.

Aside from not getting an Aaron Gordon vs. Zach LaVine rematch, this is clearly a pretty disappointing field for the 2017 Verizon Slam Dunk Contest.

Two of the participants are relative unknowns, and though Jordan is a violent dunker, whether or not he can put together enough creative dunks to legitimately challenge the high-flying Gordon is another matter entirely.

Last year, many people thought Gordon should’ve won the Slam Dunk Contest over LaVine after putting the ball under his legs while jumping over the Orlando Magic’s mascot. This year, he’ll more than likely be the heavy favorite to earn his first Slam Dunk Contest crown.

The biggest challenger might be Jordan because of his sheer size and power when it comes to throwing the ball through the hoop, but Derrick Jones Jr. might be a sleeper pick.

He’s been throwing down breathtaking dunks for the NAZ Suns in the D-League all year long, and as someone who covers the Phoenix Suns, watching him dunk in pregame has been one of the highlights for the team in recent weeks.

Robinson has played well for the Pacers lately, but he’ll have to prove himself compared to the other three contestants. More than likely though, it seems like Aaron Gordon will earn his first Slam Dunk Contest trophy this year.

This article originally appeared on