Sprint to sponsor non-points kickoff

The season-opening race formerly known as the Budweiser Shootout will now be The Sprint Unlimited at Daytona, Daytona International Speedway announced Monday.

The non-points event will be Feb. 16 (FOX 8 p.m. ET) but features a series of new elements, including a fan getting to help deliver the trophy in Victory Lane and participating in prerace ceremonies. 

The Sprint Unlimited marks the first time the new NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race cars will compete on track in an event.

As announced earlier in the year, the eligible field of drivers will consist of pole winners from the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season and past winners of The Sprint Unlimited who have attempted to qualify for at least one race during the 2012 season.

Here is the field of drivers eligible for the event: AJ Allmendinger, Aric Almirola, Marcos Ambrose, Greg Biffle, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Joey Logano, Mark Martin, Juan Pablo Montoya, Tony Stewart, Martin Truex Jr. and past race winners Kurt Busch, Bill Elliott, Kevin Harvick, Terry Labonte and Ken Schrader.