NASCAR releases start times for 2014 Sprint Cup season

Jimmie Johnson (48) crosses the finish line ahead of Dale Earnhardt Jr. (88) to win the 2013 Daytona 500.

Tom Pennington/NASCAR via Getty Images

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season officially gets underway with the 56th running of the Daytona 500 on Sunday, Feb. 23 at 1 p.m. ET on FOX. The season will once again culminate with the final race in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Sunday, Nov. 16 at 3 p.m. ET on ESPN.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule will consist of 36 points races as well as two additional weekends featuring non-points events. NASCAR Sprint Cup Series points races can be seen on either FOX (first 13 events), TNT (next six events) or ESPN/ABC (final 17 events). All races are broadcast by either Motor Racing Network, Performance Racing Network or Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network; all races will also air on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio channel 90.

Two events will see significant start time changes: the spring race at Texas Motor Speedway will shift to Sunday, Apr. 6 and begin at 3 p.m. ET on FOX. The Kansas Speedway spring event on Saturday, May 10 will be under the lights for the first time, beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET on FOX.

The Sprint Unlimited, which takes place on Saturday, Feb. 15 at 8 p.m. ET, and two Daytona 500 qualifying races, which will take place in primetime for the first time at 7 p.m. ET on Thursday, Feb. 20, will once again highlight the non-points races at the start of the season.  Both events will air on FOX Sports 1. The third non-points event will be the annual NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, which will also be broadcast on FOX Sports 1 on Saturday night, May 17.

Start times for the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup will remain the same, with five of the first seven races beginning at 2 p.m. ET and the last three races beginning at 3 p.m. ET. The Bank of America 500 from Charlotte Motor Speedway is the only night race in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, and will air on ABC on Saturday, Oct. 11 at 7:30 p.m. ET. All remaining Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup races will air on ESPN.

The full telecast schedule is below: