Lotus picks up 3 IndyCar teams for 2012 season

The defending Indianapolis 500 winning team is one of three

IndyCar shops that will use Lotus engines in 2012.

Bryan Herta’s team is the biggest name on the list released

Thursday. Last year, in what was scheduled to be Herta’s only

appearance on the IndyCar circuit, the late Dan Wheldon won the

series’ marquee event when he passed JR Hildebrand after Hildebrand

crashed on the last turn of the last lap. It was Herta’s first Indy

win as a driver or team owner.

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, a longtime IndyCar team, and HVM

Racing also have signed on with Lotus.

Michael Shank’s upstart IndyCar team is the only other team to

have chosen Lotus.

Chevrolet and Honda also will make engines for next season’s new