Sebastien Loeb wins Rally Germany for 9th time

Frenchman Sebastien Loeb made up for last year’s disappointment

by dominating the Rally Germany to win the race for the ninth time

on Sunday.

The eight-time world champion finished with a comfortable lead

of 2 minutes and 0.1 seconds over Ford driver Jari-Matti Latvala,

with Citroen teammate Mikko Hirvonen 31.3 seconds further back in


Compatriot Sebastien Ogier won the race last year, breaking

Loeb’s run of eight straight wins.

Loeb won two stages on day three, finishing 2.2 seconds faster

that Hirvonen in the third and final stage to make it nine wins

from 15 overall. Ford driver Petter Solberg claimed the second

stage on the final day.