Larry Mac wonders if Chase format makes it difficult to repeat as Sprint Cup champion

In the two seasons under this Chase format, there have been seven different drivers eligble for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship.

Jared C. Tilton/NASCAR via Getty Images

So we’ve now had our second complete season with the new Chase format and in the last two years we’ve had seven different drivers in the Championship Round. I love the variety it has given us, but it begs the question of whether we will ever see a repeat champion in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

Obviously there are no guarantees, but personally I think there is no question that we will see a driver repeat.

The deeper and longer we go with this format and we have different champions, the list gets bigger of who could repeat as our champion. I still think we have some very strong candidates who haven’t closed it out and won a championship yet. At the top of that list in my book would be Joey Logano. Denny Hamlin is another that would be on that list, as would the name Carl Edwards.

It’s a lot tougher now to win the NASCAR Sprint Cup championship and as we are seeing, a lot of it is about timing. It’s about peaking at the right time like we saw Kyle Busch do this year. I obviously can’t sit here and say we are going to have a repeat champion in 2016, but I think the list of candidates get bigger and stronger every season.