Hour 155 of Daytona countdown: Derrike Cope wins 1990 Daytona 500

Derrike Cope won in an upset in the 1990 Daytona 500 as a beneficiary of Dale Earnhardt’s streak of bad luck in the Great American Race.

Earnhardt led 155 laps and dominated the race, but ran over a piece of Ricky Rudd’s bell-housing on Turn 3 of the final lap and cut a tire, opening the door for Cope to win the race.

Cope only won two races in his Cup Series career, both coming in 1990. Earnhardt finally broke through in the 1998 Daytona 500 in his 20th attempt.

Be sure to tune into the 59th running of the Daytona 500 on Feb. 26 on FOX at 2 p.m. ET.