Latest NASCAR Hall of Fame class inducted one day late

The NASCAR Hall of Fame gains its newest members today.

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images for NASCAR

Although pushed back one day by Winter Storm Jonas, the NASCAR Hall of Fame inducted its Class of 2016 Saturday afternoon in Uptown Charlotte.

This year’s class features four drivers — all selected in 1998 as being among the 50 greatest drivers in NASCAR history —  and one promoter.

Jerry Cook — With 342 race victories and six championships, including four in a row, Cook was one of the most feared and most successful modified drivers of all-time. After retiring from driving, Cook became the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour director in 1985. He is still active in NASCAR, serving as competition administrator.

Bobby Isaac  The 1970 NASCAR Premier Series champion will forever be linked with the winged No. 71 Dodge Daytona that was so fast and so tough to beat. In 1969, Isaac set a NASCAR record that still stands, winning an astounding 19 poles. In 1970, Isaac won 11 races and had 32 top fives. A year later he set 28 speed records at the Bonneville Salt Flats.

Terry Labonte  A native of Corpus Christi, Texas, Labonte never was a big talker, but his toughness on track spoke volumes. He won his first NASCAR Premier Series title driving for Billy Hagan in 1984 and his second with Rick Hendrick in 1996. To this day that remains the longest gap between the first two championships for any driver.

Bruton Smith  How far back does Smith go in stock-car racing? In 1948, he ran the National Stock Car Racing Association, a rival sanctioning body to NASCAR. Smith is responsible for many firsts at race tracks, pioneering night races at big tracks, building trackside condos and paying big-money purses. He built Charlotte Motor Speedway in 1960.

Curtis Turner  Called by some "the Babe Ruth of stock-car racing," Turner was a hard-driving, hell-raising wheelman who was one of the best racers of all time and one of the sport’s early stars. He competed in NASCAR’s first Strictly Stock Series race in 1949, and won 38 of 79 starts in the long-defunct NASCAR Convertible Division.