Kvapil joins Front Row Motorsports

Front Row Motorsports will enter the New Year with a new look all

the way around.

The organization will run under the Ford Motorsports banner

in 2010 with Travis Kvapil driving the No. 34 with Steven Lane as

his crew chief, sources told FOXSports.com. Kevin Conway will pilot

the No. 37 Ford with a crew chief to be named later.

“I’m happy to have the opportunity because there’s not many

opportunities out there,” Kvapil said. “The Front Row Motorsports

team has a lot of good things going for them. Sponsorship is

critical to the survival of a race team but despite what type of

sponsorship has been brought in in the past, Bob Jenkins, the

owner, has always been committed to running a full-time deal.

“There’s a lot of work to be done (with changing

manufacturers) but the team has taken another step forward in its


Kvapil, 33, returns to the Ford brand after amicably parting

ways with Yates Racing following the spring race at Bristol last

year when the team ran out of funding. Kvapil won the NASCAR truck

series title in 2003.

Although he hasn’t worked with Lane in the past, he witnessed

first hand the veteran crew chief’s work ethic when Kvapil

attempted three races in the No. 37 FRM car at the end of last


“He’s well respected in the garage and a very hard working

guy,” Kvapil added. “I’m excited about that. I’m not afraid to dive

in there and work hard too. I think it’s going to be a good


Conway, 31, ran 12 races with the Extenze sponsorship in the

Nationwide Series last season for three different owners — Joe

Nemechek, Robert Richardson and Dusty Whitney. His best finish was

15th at Kentucky in the No. 87 Chevrolet.

The short list for Conway’s crew chief candidates include

Peter Sospenzo, who worked with Tony Raines on the No. 37 last

season, as well as Larry Carter and Derrick Findley.