Economaki named recipient of Squier-Hall Award

Late journalist Chris Economaki, known as the ”Dean of American

Motorsports,” has been named the third recipient of the

Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR media excellence.

Retired broadcaster Barney Hall made the announcement Saturday

at Daytona International Speedway, saying ”I kind of wish he was

here to enjoy it with us.”

Economaki, who died last year at age 91, was the editor,

publisher and columnist for National Speed Sport News for more than

60 years. He began his broadcasting career with ABC in 1961, and

while later working for CBS Sports, he helped make the Daytona 500

one of racing’s marquee events.

Economaki will be honored during NASCAR’s Hall of Fame induction

ceremonies in January.

Other finalists included Russ Catlin, Shav Glick, Tom Higgins,

Bob Jenkins, Bob Moore, Benny Phillips and T. Taylor Warren.