Earnhardt wins 11th Most Popular Driver award

Dale Earnhardt Jr. has set a record with his 11th consecutive

win as NASCAR’s most popular driver.

Earnhardt was presented with the NASCAR NMPA Most Popular Driver

Award on Thursday in Las Vegas. His win broke a tie with 16-time

winner Bill Elliott for the most consecutive years as winner.

Earnhardt thanked his loyal fan base, which continuously votes

him tops in the Sprint Cup Series. More than 1 million votes were

cast for 39 drivers. Fans voted once per day with Earnhardt

collecting more than 700,000 votes.

Kasey Kahne and Jeff Gordon, Earnhardt’s teammates at Hendrick

Motorsports, finished second and third in voting. Fourth went to

Tony Stewart and Danica Patrick was fifth.