6 things to watch for in the XFINITY Series in 2016

There will be even more incentive to win in the XFINITY Series this year with the new Chase format.

Jared C. Tilton/NASCAR via Getty Images

For the first time, the XFINITY Series will use a playoff to crown its champion. As announced last month, the seven-race XFINITY Series Chase will begin at Kentucky Speedway on Sept. 24, and feature 12 drivers and two elimination rounds, with four drivers competing in the Championship 4 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Drivers must have declared to earn XFINITY Series points in order to be eligible for the XFINITY Series Dash 4 Cash bonus.

3. Erik Jones going full time

Jones is no stranger to the XFINITY Series, having made 26 starts and capturing two XFINITY wins over the past two seasons.

4. JRM’s revised roster

JR Motorsports has a new cast of full-time drivers. Gone are Regan Smith and Chase Elliott, the latter of whom was last year’s championship runner-up and the 2014 series champion. XFINITY veteran Elliott Sadler, also a former Sprint Cup Series driver, is now in a No. 1 JR Motorsports Chevrolet.

Allgaier made the most recent of his 174 XFINITY starts in 2013, driving for car owner Steve Turner.

Chris Buescher, last year’s unheralded XFINITY Series champion, has joined the Sprint Cup Series full time to compete with Front Row Motorsports in partnership with Roush Fenway Racing.