Danica Patrick, Chase Elliott win Sprint All-Star Race fan vote

From left to right: Fan vote winner Chase Elliott; segment winners Trevor Bayne, Greg Biffle and Kyle Larson; and fan vote winner Danica Patrick pose in Victory Lane after the Sprint Showdown at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Danica Patrick and Chase Elliott will race in Saturday night’s NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race (FS1, 7 p.m. ET) thanks to the fans.


"Yet again, my fans come through for me," Patrick said. "What I want to do in a situaiton like this where I know the fans put me in the race, and every other weekend on the track, I want to do well for them."

Patrick never got a good view of the front in the Showdown, but she is confident in her car and team for Saturday night’s race.

"Everybody did a good job," Patrick added. "The car felt pretty good. The All-Star Race is one of those where things get shaken up with strategies and whatnot. I hope we can shake it up."

After a close side-by-side finish with Kyle Larson in the final segment of the Sprint Showdown, Elliott barely missed racing his way into the race.

"I’m frustrated to not get in racing your way in, but very appreciative of some great fans to take time out of their days to vote for us," said Elliott.