Sin City trivia: 10 things you need to know about Las Vegas Motor Speedway

You never know who you might run into in the Neon Garage at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, whether it's Elvis (left) or Pee Wee Herman.

Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

Sunday’s Kobalt 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway kicks off NASCAR’s three-race Western Swing, with stops next week in Phoenix and the week after in Southern California.

LVMS is a unique animal in all of NASCAR, from its Neon Garage fan zone to the bevy of celebrity impersonators, magicians and musicians who entertain fans. Fun is heavily emphasized here and with good reason.

With that in mind, here are 10 fun facts you might not know about Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Hometown hero: Kurt Busch captures Las Vegas pole in 'insanely fast' No. 41 car

10. The only driver to participate in all 18 previous Las Vegas Motor Speedway NASCAR Sprint Cup races is Jeff Gordon, who won’t be in the race on Sunday. That means for the first time, no one in the field will have competed in every race here.

9. Mark Martin is the only driver to win at Las Vegas in his first appearance here. He won the inaugural event in 1998.

8. Dale Earnhardt Jr. leads the series in runner-up finishes at Las Vegas with three. He’s followed by Kasey Kahne and Tony Stewart, who have two each.

7. Three drivers have won at Las Vegas and gone on to take the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship in the same season: Jeff Gordon (2001), Matt Kenseth (2003) and Jimmie Johnson (2006, 2007 and 2010).

5 facts learned during a fast Friday at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

6. A total of 139 drivers have competed in at least one NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Las Vegas; just two of the 139 are women — Danica Patrick and Shawna Robinson.

5. Stanton Barrett (1999), Kyle Busch (2004), Timmy Hill (2012), Jon Wood and Aric Almirola (2007) each made his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career start here.

4. Matt Kenseth, Mark Martin, Jeff Gordon and Tony Stewart lead the series in top-five finishes at Las Vegas with six each. Of those four, only Kenseth will race on Sunday.

3. The only driver to win from the pole at this track is Las Vegas native Kyle Busch, who did it in 2009.

2. A total of 11 different drivers have won at LVMS. Jimmie Johnson leads with four victories while Matt Kenseth has three wins here and Jeff Burton and Carl Edwards have two each.

1. Matt Kenseth leads all drivers at LVMS with an average finish of 11.375 and 516 laps led.