Longtime JGR pit-crew member moves over to Hendrick Motorsports

Changes are coming to Jeff Gordon's pit crew for the remainder of the 2015 Chase.

Chris Trotman/Getty Images

Longtime Joe Gibbs Racing pit crew member Nick Odell has joined Hendrick Motorsports to serve as the front-tire changer on Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 Chevrolet, the team confirmed Friday evening.

Odell, who was recently released from JGR, will replace Scott Brzozowski on the No. 24 team for the final eight races of the 2015 Chase. Brzozowski will move over to Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s No. 88 pit crew, replacing David Mayo.

Prior to last weekend’s race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, JGR announced Josh Leslie was replacing Odell on the No. 18 pit crew.

Mayo has served as Earnhardt Jr.’s front-tire changer for much of the 2015 season, but was replaced by Kevin Novak in early September. He replaced Novak in that role ahead of the Chase-opening race at Chicagoland Speedway.