Chase Grid now set to determine 2014 Sprint Cup champion

Hendrick Motorsports drivers Jeff Gordon (left) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (right) are two of the 16 drivers who earned their way into the 2014 Chase for the Sprint Cup field.

Matt Sullivan/NASCAR via Getty Images

The Chase Grid is now set.

Following the completion of Saturday night’s Federated Auto Parts 400 at Richmond International Raceway, the 16 drivers who will compete in the Challenger Round of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup are locked in.

Brad Keselowski dominated the race, becoming the first four-time winner in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series this year.

Ryan Newman and Greg Biffle secured the final two spots in the Chase and will join 14 other drivers who already had clinched spots.

All 16 Chase drivers will compete in the next three races that comprise the Challenger Round — Chicago, New Hampshire and Dover — after which four drivers will be eliminated.

The top 12 will then advance to the Contender Round — Kansas, Charlotte and Talladega — with four more drivers axed after Talladega.

The eight remaining championship contenders then move on to the Eliminator Round — Martinsville, Texas and Phoenix.

After Phoenix, the points for the final four drivers will be reset. And whichever one of the four drivers in the Championship Round has the best finish in the season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway will be crowned the champion.

Here is the Chase Grid:

Brad Keselowski, 2012 points

Jeff Gordon, 2009

Dale Earnhardt Jr., 2009

Jimmie Johnson, 2009

Joey Logano, 2009

Kevin Harvick, 2006

Carl Edwards, 2006

Kyle Busch, 2003

Denny Hamlin, 2003

Kurt Busch, 2003

Kasey Kahne, 2003

Aric Almirola, 2003

AJ Allmendinger, 2003

Matt Kenseth, 2000

Greg Biffle, 2000

Ryan Newman, 2000

VIDEO: Ryan Newman talks about locking himself into the Chase with a top-10 finish at Richmond