NASCAR announces schedule for 2016 Camping World Truck Series season

Eldora Speedway, a half-mile dirt track, is one of the highlights of the newly released 2016 truck schedule.

NASCAR on Tuesday morning announced the Camping World Truck Series’ 2016 schedule, which features 21 tracks hosting 23 events across the United States and Canada.

— Dover International Speedway’s race moves two weekends earlier in the schedule (May 13).

— Texas Motor Speedway’s first race moves one week later to June 10.

— Gateway Motorsports Park’s race moves two weekends later in the schedule to June 25.

— Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s race returns to the Sunday of Labor Day weekend, on Sept. 4.

Exclusive: Joey Logano discusses how he would change Sprint Cup Series schedule

"For more than 20 years, the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series has been home to some of the closest side-by-side racing in the sport, and we’re committed to delivering that to our fans for many years to come," Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer, said in a NASCAR release announcing the truck schedule. "We expect that the stability of five-year agreements will benefit the entire industry, and anticipate the continuation of compelling NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship battles, like the one we’re watching unfold in 2015."

The Truck Series kicks off the 2016 season in traditional fashion with Daytona Speedweeks, as the 2.5-mile track welcomes fans to experience its $400 million redevelopment project, DAYTONA Rising. After Daytona, the trucks move to Atlanta Motor Speedway for a double-header with the XFINITY Series for the second consecutive season. Two popular Wednesday night events — the dirt-track race at Eldora Speedway (July 20), and the Bristol night race (Aug. 17) — also return to the schedule.

The schedule concludes with five races in five weekends, including three triple-header weekends with the Sprint Cup and XFINITY Series at Texas Motor Speedway, Phoenix International Raceway, and Homestead-Miami Speedway.