Busch enters ownership with Truck Series team

Kyle Busch is entering team ownership with two entries next

season in NASCAR’s Camping World Truck Series.

Kyle Busch Motorsports will field the No. 18 Toyota and drive it

himself in companion races to the Sprint Cup Series. Brian Ickler

will drive the truck when Busch has other obligations.

Tyler Malsam will run the full season in the second entry, the

No. 56 Toyota.

“Everyone knows how much I love to race, and the Camping World

Truck Series is one of my favorite places to race, so to be a team

owner in this series is a perfect match,” Busch said.

Busch has 16 career wins in the Truck Series, including seven

wins in 15 starts this past season for Billy Ballew. Despite

skipping 10 races, Busch kept Ballew in the running for the owner’s

championship all the way through the season finale.

Busch was able to build his team by purchasing the assets of

Xpress Motorsports. KBM will use Xpress Motorsports’ shop in

Mooresville until construction is completed on a new building.

Rick Ren will oversee the organization as director of

competition. Ren was crew chief at Kevin Harvick Inc. for Ron

Hornaday’s championships in 2007 and 2009 in the Truck Series.

“A person can work their whole career in any profession and not

get an opportunity like this,” Ren said. “I’ve been involved in

some other startup, ground-floor programs, but not of this

magnitude. It’s a great opportunity for me, and everyone who will

be a part of Kyle Busch Motorsports.

“There have been great race car drivers, but Kyle has the

opportunity to be one of the all-time greats. Getting the chance to

help a guy like that who has a dream of building his own race team

is an honor.”