Nominee Smith not in ’14 class

First-time nominee O. Bruton Smith was not among the five voted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

The 54-member voting panel selected Tim Flock, Maurice Petty, Dale Jarrett, Jack Ingram and Fireball Roberts as the Class of 2014.

Smith, the track founder and chairman of Speedway Motorsports, Inc., is a long-time promoter of NASCAR races. His group currently owns eight tracks that host races in the Sprint Cup Series.

Prior to the voting, Smith talked about what it would mean to be inducted into the Hall.

“It’s a worthy thing," he said. “It makes you feel very proud for what you’ve been able to do and the people that support you. I’m sure this will be the biggest of what’s happened to me before if that occurs.

“We were just going down the road and helped to build this great sport that I love and have been involved forever, it seems like. My first entry into it was when I was 17 and bought my first race car. So I’ve been around here for a while.

“If I’m inducted at a later date, I’ll do whatever I can to help grow the facility in Charlotte and continue to help grow the sport.”