9 winningest NASCAR Sprint Cup active drivers since 2010

How tough is it to win at NASCAR’s highest level? Plenty tough.

In the nearly 6 ½ years and 230 races since the start of the 2010 season, just nine NASCAR Sprint Cup Series active drivers have posted double-digit victory totals.

That works out to about 1.5 victories per year. Should be easy, right? It’s not. Which is exactly why so few people have managed it. Here are the nine who have.

CARL EDWARDS, 11  If nothing else, Edwards is consistent. Since 2010, he’s won two races a season four different times, including this year.

Carl Edwards celebrates his win in the Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway on March, 16, 2014. 

TONY STEWART, 11 –After going winless in the 2011 Sprint Cup regular season, Stewart won five of the 10 races in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. That hot streak propelled him to his third series title.

Tony Stewart does a burnout after winning at Dover International Speedway in 2013.

JOEY LOGANO, 13  Winless in points races so far this year, Logano won a series-high six times last year and five more in 2014, all with Team Penske. 

Joey Logano with the Harley J. Earl Trophy after winning the 2014 Daytona 500.

BRAD KESELOWSKI, 18  Already a two-time winner this year, Keselowski won six races in his championship season of 2012 and five more in 2014.

After cutting his hand on a champagne bottle, Brad Keselowski poses with the trophy in Victory Lane after winning at Kentucky Speedway in 2013.

MATT KENSETH, 19  Since moving to Joe Gibbs Racing in 2013, Kenseth has won 13 races, an impressive total. He likely will add to that total before the year is out.

Matt Kenseth holds up a lobster after winning at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2015.

DENNY HAMLIN, 19  In 2010, Hamlin tore the series up, winning eight races. But this year, he got the crown jewel as he won his first Daytona 500.

Denny Hamlin hoists the Harley J. Earl Trophy in Victory Lane after winning the 2016 Daytona 500.

KEVIN HARVICK, 21  Always a front-runner, Harvick’s career has taken off since joining Stewart-Haas Racing in 2014. He won the Sprint Cup title that year, finished second in 2015 and leads the points standings now.

Kevin Harvick celebrates in Victory Lane at Phoenix International Raceway in 2015.

KYLE BUSCH, 21  What’s scary is that the younger Busch is just now entering the prime of his career and still has a huge upside. He already leads the series in 2016 with three victories.

Kyle Busch takes the checkered flag after winning the 2015 Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

JIMMIE JOHNSON, 30  Not much you can say about Johnson’s numbers other than to note that they are truly staggering. No wonder he’s a six-time Sprint Cup champion and the active leader in series victories with 77.

Jimmie Johnson celebrates with the checkered flag in Victory Lane after winning the Coca-Cola 600 in 2014 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.