New Talladega ‘Freedom Trophy’ will honor the United States military

Talladega Superspeedway will be starting a new tradition next month.

Beginning with the Aaron’s 499, the ‘Dega winner will receive the ‘Freedom Trophy’ that showcases all five branches of the United States military – Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force and Coast Guard.

Military personnel will be on hand at the race to present the trophy in Victory Lane.

"Winning a Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega just got extra special," said Talladega Chairman Grant Lynch. "With the Freedom Trophy, we pay tribute to our race winners, as well as our servicemen and women who make so many things possible for us on a daily basis."