Pruett and Rojas team to win Rolex Series race

Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas won the Porsche 250 at Barber

Motorsports Park and extended their lead in the Rolex Sports Car

Series’ Daytona Prototype standings.

It was their second consecutive victory this season – and

their second at the 2.3-mile Barber road course. Pruett and Rojas –

drivers of a BMW Riley prototype for owners Chip Ganassi and Felix

Sabates – also won at Barber in 2008.

The estimated crowd of 25,000 saw the repeat title hopes of

defending series champions Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty suffer a

serious setback. Their Chevrolet Riley blew an engine during the

first hour of the 2-hour, 45-minute event, relegating them to last

place in the 29-car field.

The production-based GT class was won by Jeff Segal and Emil

Assentato, in a Mazda RX-8, their second consecutive victory.