FIA issues 2015 F1 calendar with Austin ahead of Mexico

The Australian Formula One Grand Prix at Albert Park remains as the season opener in 2015.

The FIA World Motor Sport Council has now issued an official 2015 schedule that includes 20 races, with the Mexico GP the only addition to this year’s calendar.

Changes to a preliminary schedule that had been circulating include Austin now running before Mexico, and Japan being moved forward to run back-to-back with Singapore, leaving Russia as a stand-alone event.

There will be anxious faces at COTA given that many Mexican fans that have been travelling to the USA may now focus on their home race.

2015 FIA F1 World Championship

March 15: Australia (Melbourne)

March 29: Malaysia (Sepang)

April 5: Bahrain (Sakhir)

April 19: China (Shanghai)

May 10: Spain (Barcelona)

May 24: Monaco (Monte Carlo)

June 7: Canada (Montreal)

June 21: Austria (Red Bull Ring)

July 5: Great Britain (Silverstone)

July 19: Germany (Nurburgring)

July 26: Hungary (Budapest)

August 23: Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)

September 6: Italy (Monza)

September 20: Singapore (Marina Bay)

September 27: Japan (Suzuka)

October 11: Russia (Sochi)

October 25: United States (Austin)

November 1: Mexico (Mexico City)

November 15: Brazil (Interlagos)

November 29: Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)