PRESS RELEASE: Monster Energy Cup to showcase James Stewart’s return to racing

James Stewart is the 2013 winner of the Monster Energy Cup. 

RON T. ENNIS/MCT via Getty Images

ELLENTON, Fla. – The fifth running of the Monster Energy Cup at Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium this Saturday will mark the highly anticipated return of James Stewart, who won the 2013 Monster Energy Cup. This will be the first Monster Energy Cup Stewart will race in since the Monster Energy Supercross Finals in Las Vegas in May of 2014. With $1 million up for grabs, the two-time Monster Energy Supercross Champion will come out swinging in his first race back.

FS2 will air the race live Saturday, October 17 at 9:30pm ET / 6:30pm PT.

FOX Broadcast Channel will re-air a 90 min version of the race on Sunday, October 18 at 2:30pm-4:00pm ET / 11:30am-1:00pm PT (Pre-NFL) and 4:30pm-6:00pm ET / 1:30pm-3:00pm PT (Post-NFL).  Check local listings for your specific market broadcast time.

FS1 will re-air the entire race on Tuesday, October 20 at 8:00am ET / 5:00am PT.

Live coverage from the Monster Energy Cup will also be available on the authenticated FOX Sports Go app.

Media Day will take place Friday, October 16 at 11:00am PT at Sam Boyd Stadium, featuring Ryan Dungey, James Stewart, Ken Roczen, Justin Barcia, Davi Millsaps, Austin Forkner, and Trey Canard. Fans can listen to the live stream atwww.MonsterEnergyCup.com starting at 11:00am PT/2:00pm ET.

On Saturday, October 17, fans can log on to www.MonsterEnergyCup.com to watch Race Day Live with Jim Holley and Andy Bowyer from Noon PT/3:00pm ET to 6:00pm PT/9:00pm ET.

Since the inaugural race in 2011, Ryan Villopoto has been the only racer to win the required three Main Events and earn the $1 Million. The now retired three-time Monster Energy Supercross Champion reflects back on his big pay day.

"The pressure to win all three Main Events is intense," said Villopoto. "The key to this race is a good start, and that is what I was able to do in 2011. With $1 Million on the line, everyone brings their A-game, and it’s important to keep your composure. I look forward to seeing how this year’s race unfolds; there will be the world’s best racers out there, so it’s going to be exciting."

Joining Villopoto as Monster Energy Cup Champions are Davi Millsaps (2014), James Stewart (2013) and Justin Barcia (2012). While they didn’t sweep the three Main Events, they walked away with $100,000 for their efforts and wrote their names in the record books.

After winning the first two Main Events at last year’s Monster Energy Cup, Canard put himself in position to win $1 Million. All he needed to do was win the third and final Main Event. Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson captured the Toyota Holeshot Award in the third and final Cup Class Main Event with Millsaps on his rear wheel. Millsaps moved around Anderson on the opening lap to take over the lead. Canard took over second place on the opening lap and set chase on Millsaps. While setting up a pass for the lead, Canard crashed on Lap 4, and on Lap 7, he crashed again.

Last year’s champion, Millsaps, aims to become the first rider in history to win the Monster Energy Cup aboard a new bike and team. Prior to this year’s race, Millsaps joined forces with the BTO Sports.com KTM team and will make his debut for the new squad when he lines up against the world’s top racers

Fresh off his second Monster Energy Supercross Championship, Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey will race for his first-ever Monster Energy Cup Championship. Dungey finished fourth at last year’s race and second at the previous three. At the inaugural Monster Energy Cup in 2011, Dungey made his debut for the Red Bull KTM team following a successful career with the Factory Suzuki race team, where he won the 2010 Monster Energy Supercross title.

The 2015 Monster Energy Cup features an all-new track design inspired by 5-time Monster Energy Supercross Champion Ricky Carmichael. The Carmichael-inspired track design will consist of supercross and motocross obstacles unlike any other racetrack design in the world. The Monster Energy Cup posts a $250,000 purse with the winner walking away with a $100,000 check, and any rider that wins all three Main Events will take home $1 million. 

For more information on the Monster Energy Cup, log on to www.MonsterEnergyCup.com. For all media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig dhartwig@feldinc.com or 630-566-6305. To follow the Monster Energy Cup on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, log on to Facebook.com/VegasMECupTwitter.com/VegasMECupInstagram.com/MonsterEnergyCup.  

Tickets for the 2015 Monster Energy Cup can be purchased at the Thomas & Mack Center Box Office, UNLVtickets outlets, online at www.UNLVtickets.comwww.MonsterEnergyCup.com, or by phone at (702) 739-FANS. Tickets will be available at the Sam Boyd Stadium Box Office on the day of the event only. Practice and qualifying begins at Noon and the Main Event begins at 6:00 p.m. PDT.

About Feld Motor Sports®

Feld Motor Sports, Inc. is the world leader in specialized arena and stadium-based motor sports entertainment. Feld Motor Sports productions include Monster Jam®, Monster Energy Supercross, and AMSOIL Arenacross. Feld Motor Sports is a division of Feld Entertainment, the world’s largest producer of live family entertainment. For more information on Feld Entertainment, visit www.feldentertainment.com.

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit www.americanmotorcyclist.com.Not a member? Join the AMA today: www.americanmotorcyclist.com/membership/join