Scott Dixon cruises to victory as IndyCar returns to Phoenix

Scott Dixon won Saturday night's Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix at Phoenix International Raceway.

Reigning IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon took the win at Saturday night’s Verizon IndyCar Series race at Phoenix International Raceway.

The race marked the first time that the series had returned to the 1.0-mile long oval track since 2005.

Helio Castroneves led the field away from pole position at the start of the 250 lap event, but fell to the back in the early stages when he suffered from a puncture.

This handed the lead over to Juan Pablo Montoya, who led the points entering the race having won the season-opener at St. Petersburg. However, Montoya ran into the same fate as Castroneves, taking him out of contention for the win.

Fortunately for Dixon, he didn’t run into such tough luck, and was able to hold on to the victory thanks in part to the fact that the downforce package made passing virtually impossible throughout the night.

The race ended under the yellow flag after Alexander Rossi bounced off of the wall with 2 laps left to go.

Unofficial race results:

1. Scott Dixon

2. Simon Pagenaud

3. Will Power

4. Tony Kanaan

5. Graham Rahal

6. Josef Newgarden

7. Max Chilton

8. Sebastien Bourdais

9. Juan Pablo Montoya

10. Ryan Hunter-Reay

11. Helio Castroneves

12. Charlie Kimball

13. Marco Andretti

14. Alexander Rossi

15. Takuma Sato

16. Conor Daly

17. Mikhail Aleshin

18. James Hinchcliffe

19. Jack Hawksworth

20. Luca Filippi

21. Ed Carpenter

22. Carlos Munoz