Will Power breaks year-long losing streak at Detroit

Will Power's last Verizon IndyCar Series win before Sunday came at the Indianapolis road course in 2015.

©2016 Jake Galstad

Team Penske’s Will Power broke a year-long losing streak in the Verizon IndyCar Series when he won Sunday’s Chevrolet Dual in Detroit Race 2.

Power failed to finish in Saturday’s Race 1, which was won by Sebastian Bourdais.

Simon Pageanud led the field away for the first of 70 laps at Belle Isle Park. However, the race was soon slowed for a multi-car incident in Turn 1 that took out Max Chilton and James Hinchcliffe.

Two more incidents slowed the race during its duration, one a midway when Juan Pablo Montoya crashed out, and one on Lap 50, for the stalled car of Jack Hawksworth.

The Lap 50 caution turned the race upside-down as it had just come when Pagenaud, Power and Ryan Hunter-Reay had made their final stops. Helio Castroneves had been leading the race, but had not pit yet. He decided to pit under the Safety Car and dropped back down the order, finishing the race in 14th place.

Four drivers remained out on track but had to pit during the final 20 lap stint, which would have moved Pagenaud back up to the top spot. However, Power passed his Penske teammate soon after the restart and went on to win, despite a late charge from Pagenaud on the final lap.

Unofficial race results:

1. Will Power

2. Simon Pagenaud

3. Ryan Hunter-Reay

4. Josef Newgarden

5. Scott Dixon

6. Conor Daly

7. Tony Kanaan

8. Sebastien Bourdais

9. Marco Andretti

10. Takuma Sato

11. Graham Rahal

12. Alexander Rossi

13. Gabby Chaves

14. Helio Castroneves

15. Carlos Munoz

16. Charlie Kimball

17. Mikhail Aleshin

18. Spencer Pigot

19. Jack Hawksworth – DNF

20. Juan Pablo Montoya – DNF

21. Max Chilton – DNF

22. James Hinchcliffe – DNF