Formula E schedule expands as London reveals layout for doubleheader

London ePrix circuit layout in Battersea Park.

The 2014-2015 FIA Formula E season will now feature 11 races, when just a few weeks ago the schedule looked set at nine.

Following the announcement earlier this month of the addition of the Moscow ePrix, Formula E has now revealed the circuit layout of the London ePrix at Battersea Park. In addition, it has emerged that the London ePrix will also be a doubleheader – with the first race taking place on Saturday June 27, followed by the final race of the season on Sunday June 28.

This means that the inaugural FIA Formula E season will now see 11 races.

British native and FIA Formula E driver Sam Bird gave his thoughts on the 15-turn, 1.8-mile circuit to

"The track is in the beautiful Battersea Park, right next to the River Thames, just across from Chelsea and with some of the most famous features of London’s skyline in the background. The layout itself seems to combine fast straights, a couple of high-speed bends, as well as some challenging chicanes and braking zones. I think the London ePrix spectators will be treated to some close, fast racing with plenty of action and overtaking. The organizers have done a good job with this layout and I can’t wait to race there, in front of my home crowd!"

Full 2014-2015 schedule:

Round 1: Beijing ePrix – Sept. 13, 2014 (winner: Lucas di Grassi)

Round 2: Putrajaya ePrix – Nov. 22, 2014 (winner: Sam Bird)

Round 3: Punta del Este ePrix – Dec. 13, 2014 (winner: Sebastien Buemi)

Round 4: Buenos Aires ePrix – Jan. 10, 2014 (winner: Antonio Felix da Costa)

Round 5: Miami ePrix – March 14, 2015

Round 6: Long Beach ePrix – April 4, 2015

Round 7: Monaco ePrix – May 9, 2015

Round 8: Berlin ePrix – May 23, 2015

Round 9: Moscow ePrix – June 6, 2015

Round 10: London ePrix – June 27, 2015

Round 11: London ePrix – June 28, 2015

Click HERE for more FIA Formula E news.