Formula E: Legge, Heidfeld And Sarrazin to compete in opening season

Thursday, Venturi confirmed its driver roster for the inaugural Formula E series with former Formula 1driver Nick Heidfeld and Le Mans 24 Hour regular Stephane Sarrazin.

Amlin Aguri followed up Friday announcing the first of its two drivers as being Katherine Legge, the first female driver to have a confirmed drive in Formula E.

"It feels really special to be part of a starting project that is going to bring a lot to the future of racing and the automobile," 37-year-old Nick Heidfeld told "When you’ve been involved in driving and motorsport at a high level for such a long time, you step into a car and automatically start to compare to what you’ve experienced before. I will try to bring some ideas of what I’ve seen and experienced to help the team perform at the highest level.

"The team will work as one to find solutions: that’s what I like, to move forward. Working on a car is really interesting and very satisfying when you achieve winning results."

"Being a part of this new championship is amazing," Stephane Sarrazin told "I am excited and motivated to sit in a totally new car with pioneering technology and to undertake a new discipline. In addition, street circuits promise a lot of close competition and fights between good drivers."

"For me this is a really exciting opportunity," Katherine Legge told "The car is fantastic, it looks amazing and it will be very quick. Racing through the streets of the world’s leading cities will be an incredible experience and I think it’s a great chance to bring racing to the people. We will be driving in their cities on their streets."

The following 11 drivers now have confirmed rides for the inaugural Formula E season:

  • Amlin Aguri: Katherine Legge
  • Andretti Autosport: Franck Montagny
  • Audi Sport ABT: Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi
  • Mahindra Racing: Karun Chandhok and Bruno Senna
  • TrulliGP: Jarno Trulli
  • Venturi: Nick Heidfeld and Stephane Sarrazin
  • Virgin Racing: Jaime Alguersuari and Sam Bird

FOX Sports 1 will have exclusive LIVE coverage of all 10 races during the series’ inaugural 2013-2014 season, beginning at Beijing on September 13.