F1: Multiple drivers flirting with power unit grid penalties

Jean-Eric Vergne's Toro Rosso retires from the 2014 Monaco GP with a broken power unit.

Steven Tee

In Italy, Daniil Kvyat became the first driver to take a 10-place grid penalty for using a sixth power unit element, in his case an ICE, or internal combustion engine.

The Russian’s troubles are not over, as he will now face a five-place penalty as soon as he uses a sixth example of any other element, and will get 10 places if uses a seventh ICE.

Meanwhile, with six races to go including Singapore, several other drivers are on the bubble, and face an inevitable penalty. Here’s the full list of those who are at five, preceded by a list of the abbreviations:

ICE: Internal Combustion Engine

CE: Control Electronics

MGU-H: Motor Generator Unit – Heat

MGU-K: Motor Generator Unit – Kinetic

TC: Turbo Charger

Sebastian Vettel: ICE

Fernando Alonso: ICE, CE

Kimi Raikkonen: ICE, MGU-H, CE

Romain Grosjean: TC

Pastor Maldonado: ICE, TC, MGU-K, MGU-H

Adrian Sutil: ICE, TC, MGU-H

Esteban Gutierrez: CE

Jean-Eric Vergne: MGU-K

Daniil Kvyat: MGU-K

Jules Bianchi: ICE, TC, MGU-H, CE

Max Chilton: ICE, TC, MGU-H