FIA World Council confirms 20-race 2017 F1 schedule

The 2017 Formula One World Championship will start on March 26 with the Australian GP. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)
Mark Thompson/Getty Images

As expected, the World Motor Sport Council has issued a definitive 2017 F1 schedule that features just 20 races, with the German GP missing after Bernie Ecclestone failed to do a deal with either Hockenheim nor the new Nurburgring owners.

Brazil and Canada – which had been in doubt some weeks ago – are now firm.

The new version includes several changes outlined previously, along with others made to accommodate a move for Baku to avoid a clash with Le Mans.

Because Germany has gone, Hungary has moved back a week as predicted to the former German date, and Austria and Silverstone have now also moved by a week, which in turn allows Baku to move. Thus, unlike this year, Baku will not involve a frantic rush straight from Montreal.

As predicted, Malaysia and Singapore have swapped since the provisional schedule was issued, so that they run like this year with Singapore on its own and Malaysia back-to-back with Japan.

Similarly, Mexico has been moved back a week so that it is back-to-back with Austin, as was the case this year.

2017 FIA F1 World Championship schedule

— March 26 – Australia (Melbourne)
— April 9 – China (Shanghai)
— April 16 – Bahrain (Sakhir)
— April 30 – Russia (Sochi)
— May 14 – Spain (Barcelona)
— May 28 – Monaco (Monte-Carlo)
— June 11 – Canada (Montreal)
— June 25 – Azerbaijan (Baku)
— July 9 – Austria (Spielberg)
— July 16 – Britain (Silverstone)
— July 30 – Hungary (Budapest)
— Aug. 27 – Belgium (Spa)
— Sept. 3 – Italy (Monza)
— Sept. 17 – Singapore (Marina Bay)
— Oct. 1 – Malaysia (Sepang)
— Oct. 8 – Japan (Suzuka)
— Oct. 22 – USA (Austin)
— Oct. 29 – Mexico (Mexico City)
— Nov. 12 – Brazil (Sao Paulo)
— Nov. 26 – Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)