Eli Tomac wins Daytona after battle with debutant Jeremy Martin

Kawasaki rider Eli Tomac took his fifth win in seven races Saturday night at the Daytona Supercross by Honda.

It was his second straight win at Daytona, which features a unique layout designed by Ricky Carmichael in the infield of the Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida.

The rider Tomac passed for the win also turned heads, as Jeremy Martin finished in second place on his GEICO Honda after leading the first half of the race in his 450SX debut. Tomac took the lead from Martin on Lap 11 of the 20-lap race.

Behind them, Jason Anderson, Ryan Dungey and Cole Seely rounded out the top five. Dungey had dropped to the back at the start when two bikes starting alongside him had jumped the gate, which likely threw him off in the run down to the first turn. Dungey completed the first lap in 17th, and only got the fourth spot with an aggressive last-lap pass on Seely. Chad Reed finished sixth, which was a solid finish considering he had came off of his bike during the middle of the race.

Meanwhile in the 250SX East class, it was a great night for the Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki team as teammates Adam Cianciarulo and Joey Savatgy ran 1-2 for the entire Main Event. While Savatgy took the holeshot, it was the Florida native who quickly took the lead and led the rest of the race to take the win in front of his home fans.

Behind them, Dylan Ferrandis and Jordon Smith duked it out for the final podium spot in the closing stages, but Smith faded back and almost lost the spot to points leader Zach Osborne, who could only manage a fifth-place finish after going down early on in the Main.

Unofficial 450SX results:

1. Eli Tomac

2. Jeremy Martin

3. Jason Anderson

4. Ryan Dungey

5. Cole Seely

6. Chad Reed

7. Blake Baggett

8. Josh Grant

9. Justin Brayton

10. Mike Alessi

Unofficial 250SX results:

1. Adam Cianciarulo

2. Joey Savatgy

3. Dylan Ferrandis

4. Jordon Smith

5. Zach Osborne

6. Lorenzo Locurcio

7. Kyle Cunningham

8. Alex Martin

9. Luke Renzland

10. Dakota Alix