Crafton clinches NASCAR Truck Series championship

HOMESTEAD, Fla. (AP) Matt Crafton made it back-to-back Truck Series championships, clinching the title with a ninth-place finish Friday night at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Crafton became the first driver to win consecutive championships in the series. The grizzled, 38-year-old veteran in a series loaded with up-and-comers had to finish 21st or better in the 134-lap race.

Darrell Wallace Jr. earned his fourth win of the season.

Wallace and truck owner/driver Kyle Busch went bumper-to-bumper for a celebratory spinout. Busch finished fourth, and his Kyle Busch Motorsports team won the driver’s championship.

Kyle Larson was second, Timothy Peters third and Ryan Blaney fifth. Blaney was runner-up to Crafton in the final standings.