Crew declines to retain GK William Hesmer

The Columbus Crew has retained 10 players from its roster while

declining to pick up goalkeeper William Hesmer.

The Crew picked up the options of goalkeepers Andy Gruenebaum

and Matt Lampson; defenders Eric Gehrig and Josh Williams,

midfielders Bernardo Anor, Dilly Duka, Ethan Finlay and Kevan

George; and forwards Justin Meram and Aaron Schoenfeld.

The club declined contract options on defenders Rich Balchan,

Julius James and Sebastian Miranda; midfielders Chris Birchall and

Tony Tchani; and forward Tommy Heinemann.

Hesmer was an instrumental cog in the Crew lineup for six

seasons, leading the Crew to two Supporters’ Shields, an Eastern

Conference Championship and the 2008 MLS Cup.

Defenders Danny O’Rourke and Carlos Mendes and forward Emilio

Renteria are out of contract but the club expects to extend them