Yankees-Rays, Giants-D'Backs set for MLB April 2 openers

NEW YORK (AP) Major League Baseball's 2017 season will open Sunday, April 2 with the New York Yankees at the Tampa Bay Rays and the San Francisco Giants at the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Both games will be televised by ESPN, which also will select a third game for that day.

Thirteen games are scheduled for April 3, the commissioner's office said Wednesday as it released the 2017 schedule: Toronto at Baltimore, Pittsburgh at Boston, Philadelphia at Cincinnati, Detroit at the Chicago White Sox, Seattle at Houston, San Diego at the Los Angeles Dodgers, Colorado at Milwaukee, Kansas City at Minnesota, Atlanta at the New York Mets, the Los Angeles Angels at Oakland, Chicago Cubs at St. Louis, Cleveland at Texas and Miami at Washington.

Atlanta's opener at SunTrust Park against San Diego will be April 14.

The All-Star Game will be at Miami on July 11, and the regular season is scheduled to end Oct. 1. The amateur draft is set to start June 12.