Phillies going for rare World Series repeat

After winning their second consecutive NL pennant on Wednesday night, the Philadelphia Phillies are trying to become the eighth major league team to repeat as champions since divisional play began in 1969.

Here’s a look at how other clubs fared over the last 40 years when reaching the World Series one season after taking home the title:

1971 Baltimore Orioles, lost to Pittsburgh Pirates in 7 games.

1973 Oakland Athletics, beat New York Mets in 7 games.

1974 Oakland Athletics, beat Los Angeles Dodgers in 5 games.

1976 Cincinnati Reds, beat New York Yankees in 4 games.

1978 New York Yankees, beat Los Angeles Dodgers in 6 games.

1990 Oakland Athletics, lost to Cincinnati Reds in 4 games.

1993 Toronto Blue Jays, beat Philadelphia Phillies in 6 games.

1996 Atlanta Braves, lost to New York Yankees in 6 games.

1999 New York Yankees, beat Atlanta Braves in 4 games.

2000 New York Yankees, beat New York Mets in 5 games.

2001 New York Yankees, lost to Arizona Diamondbacks in 7 games.

2009 Philadelphia Phillies, vs. New York Yankees or Los Angeles Angels.