Lucchino, Joyce, Washington feted by Boston BBWAA

Red Sox president and CEO Larry Lucchino, who guided the

ballclub through two World Series championships and the renovation

of Fenway Park, was honored Thursday by the Boston baseball writers

with the Judge Emil Fuchs Award for long and meritorious service to

the sport.

The award has been given since 1959 to recipients such as Hank

Aaron, Marvin Miller and Ernie Harwell by Boston chapter of the

Baseball Writers of America. It was presented to Lucchino, who also

ran the Orioles and Padres, at the chapter’s annual dinner in front

of a crowd of more than 600.

Lucchino noted that he had much in common with Fuchs, a lawyer

who became a baseball executive. But the former Boston Braves owner

also managed the team in 1929.

”So,” Lucchino said to Red Sox manager Terry Francona,

”perhaps you should watch your back this season if ever you see me

trying on a uniform.”

The Boston BBWAA named its New England player of the year award

after former Pawtucket Red Sox owner Ben Mondor, who died in

October. It was given to Minnesota Twins pitcher Carl Pavano.

Others honored included:

-Umpire Jim Joyce, who was given a special achievement award for

his ”candor and courage” in admitting he blew the call on what

should have been the final out of Tigers’ pitcher Armando

Galarraga’s perfect game.

-Tampa Bay right-hander Joaquin Benoit, who returned from a torn

right rotator cuff, won the 21st annual Tony Conigliaro Award for

overcoming adversity.

-Ron Washington of the Rangers was the chapter’s manager of the

year after leading Texas to the first World Series appearance in

franchise history.

-Brian Sabean of the San Francisco Giants was the chapter’s 2010

Executive of the Year. A New Hampshire native, Sabean assembled the

team’s first world championship since 1954. He was also won the

chapter’s executive of the year award in 1997.

-Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton was the winner of the Boston

BBWAA’s Ted Williams Award as baseball’s top hitter for the second

time in three seasons. He hit .359 with 32 home runs and 100 RBIs

while leading the Rangers to the World Series.

-Adrian Beltre earned the Thomas A. Yawkey Award as Boston’s

most valuable player. He led the Red Sox with a .321 average, 49

doubles and 102 RBIs while also hitting 28 homers and making his

first career All-Star game.

Red Sox outfielder Darnell McDonald, who won the Jackie Jensen

Hustle award, noted that he was signed to his first pro contract by

John Green, the Los Angeles Dodgers scout whose 9-year-old

daughter, Christina, was killed in the Tucson shooting rampage that

left six dead and 13 more injured, including U.S. Rep. Gabrielle


”I just ask that you have their family and all of the victims

in your prayers,” McDonald said.